From the Eyes of a Dog

From the eyes of a dog,

Everything is black and white.

Only what the master says is right,

So the rest must be wrong.

My master gives me purpose.

He tells me to obey.

I wake up every day

And know my place.

 

Then the eyes of a dog spot the eyes of a bird on the tallest tree,

And suddenly I can see everything the birds sees,

Far above the eyes of the tree,

For I can take flight.

I flap my wings through the merciless winds just to see

what no one else can believe.

 

The eyes of a bird lock eyes with the eyes of a plane,

And I have experienced everything,

adventured everywhere,

And accomplished the extraordinary.

 

The eyes of a plane focus ahead

To the sunrise just above the horizon;

To the endless possibilities of daybreak.

 

And I realize that I am not the plane,

Or the bird,

Or the dog.

 

I am shackled to the ground,

Watching,

Waiting,

Hoping

 the purpose eluding me

Will return.

 

Maybe it’s the beyond the horizon

I can’t see through

These eyes of mine.

Leave a Reply

