Food Fantasies: Blueberry Muffin Cake

My birthday is a special occasion in my household.  Usually, I go for the Seven-Layer German Chocolate Cake, but this past year, my taste buds have embarked on a new adventure.  Now I ask for this savory journey for every special event:  Christmas, Thanksgiving, vacation, birthdays, and whenever organic blueberries are in season.  This expedition is Blueberry Muffin Cake.

Blueberry Muffin Cake is a pilgrimage lasting only three short days before it is stolen by pirates and thieves.  The fresh aroma of blueberry muffin (in cake form) attracts all sorts of people, but especially some unsavory folks who insist upon taking what doesn’t belong to them.  They know who they are.

I am a bit more willing to share Blueberry Muffin Cake than popovers, but the difference is maybe two (small) pieces of cake to one popover.  It’s a large concession on my part since my house is a breeding ground for robbers.  They don’t ask for permission to take my cake.  They wait until no one is around and hope they don’t get caught.

Blueberry Muffin Cake is every bit as precious to me as popovers and chocolate.  I don’t take kindly to bandits.  You and a friend may come over for one slice each, but any more and I will consider you an enemy of the house.

Leave a Reply

