Teaser Tuesday: The Origin of Names

I chose the name “Anna” because I liked the name, but it originates to Hannah in Hebrew, which means “favor” or “grace.”  It’s a fitting meaning for a special and talented girl.

I chose “Thomas” because it was around the time I was reading the Circle Series by Ted Dekker, and I loved the character Thomas Hunter.  Naturally, I had to have a Thomas.

Anna’s brother, the genius who went to college at 15, is named “Daniyal.”  It is Arabic for “intelligent,” though I chose it completely by accident.

Anna’s father is named “Lucius,” meaning “light” in Latin.  Though he does not have fair hair (just fair skin), he brought “light” to a crippled government.  I’m trying to steer clear of the association with Lucius Malfoy of Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

