Weekend Battles: Pricetags

This weekend I knew not of full price items or spending exorbitant amounts of money on clothes. This weekend I knew only of taking an additional 50% off already reduced prices, an additional 20% off of the entire purchase, and more surprises at the register.  This weekend I indulged in shopping.

The more I want things, the more likely I am to purchase them.  Therefore, I made a list of necessities and desires.  For example, before the weekend, I only had 5 acceptable pairs of shorts.  Now I have 7!  And I bought them both for less than the sale price because of surprises at the register!  I have enough shorts for a week without repeats.  I know the high-waisted shorts have been in now for a while, but I’ve never been into trends.  My two new shorts were mid-rise so that I can continue my pattern of being “so last year.”  Even last year, I was “so two years ago,” and high-waisted shorts go with crop tops.  I think I have one? maybe.  No need to show off my mid-riff to random strangers.  I’m not an attention whore.

I don’t know if shopping makes me a materialist.  I did buy necessities, like the shorts, but at the same time I bought a sweater for winter because it was 50% off.  I didn’t need the sweater then, and I don’t now.  I suppose that was the point of the sale:  to start moving merchandise early and kick off the fall clothes season.  It was a great deal, and I stand by the purchase.  But I do wonder whether I’m a pawn of the retail industry, whether I’m just a typical American seeking sales and spending more just because it’s a “great deal.”

I’ll think about this the next time I go shopping, but on the other hand, I do need these shoes….

Leave a Reply

